CUFA BC Welcomes AEST PSE Support of PSI Budgetary Flexibility

Created 16 February 2021 10:02

For Immediate Release February 16, 2021 – The Confederation of University Faculty Associations of British Columbia (CUFA BC) welcomes news from the Government of BC that post-secondary institutions will be given increased flexibility in budgeting over the next two years to respond to the COVID-19 pandemic. Post-secondary institutions will be able to run budget deficits for two fiscal years and use surpluses from previous years to maintain current operations. Faculty, students, and institutions have advocated for this financial flexibility for institutions affected by COVID-19, something not permitted under existing legislation.

“I would like to thank our post-secondary institutions for the hard work they have done during this unprecedented year to support their campus communities and keep people safe,” said Anne Kang, Minister of Advanced Education and Skills Training. “We’re providing stability so PSIs that have seen extra costs and lower revenue can navigate the financial impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic, while continuing to support students, staff and faculty, and deliver top-quality post-secondary education
for people.”

“This financial flexibility is a lifeline to post-secondary institutions in the province struggling to address the repercussions of the pandemic,” said Dr. Daniel Laitsch, President of CUFA BC. “We are grateful to Minister Kang for taking action to support faculty, students, and institutions in response to community requests for this change.”

The BC government’s announcement will permit 20 colleges and universities to run deficits in fiscal years 2020-21 totalling $178.9 million and 17 institutions in 2021-22 totalling $75.2 million. Deficits are projected this year at University of British Columbia, University of Northern British Columbia, University of Victoria, B.C. Institute of Technology, Selkirk College, Camosun College, Vancouver Community College, Coast Mountain College, Capilano University, College of New Caledonia, Emily Carr University of Art and Design, College of the Rockies, Kwantlen Polytechnic University, Justice Institute of B.C., Langara College, North Island College, University of the Fraser Valley, Northern Lights College, Okanagan College and Vancouver Island University.

For further information or comment please contact CUFA BC Executive Director Annabree Fairweather at 604-367-5856 or [email protected].


CUFA BC represents over 5,500 faculty members, professional librarians, lecturers, instructors, and other academics at the five research-intensive universities in British Columbia, which include University of British Columbia, Simon Fraser University, University of Victoria, Royal Roads University and University of Northern British Columbia.

CUFA BC has existed for fifty years and works closely with the member Faculty Associations at each institution. Our purposes are to support high-quality post-secondary education and research in British Columbia and to advocate for the interests of our members.


DOWNLOAD PRESS RELEASE – CUFA BC Welcomes AEST PSE Support of PSI Budgetary Flexibility