Past Winners 2000



2000 DAA Awards

Reg Mitchell (Center Right) recieves his award from Bob McCartney of Sun Microsystems (Left), Ewan French of Pearson Education Canada (Center Left) and Jim Gaskell, President of CUFA/BC (Right)

2000 DAA Presentation

Bob Evans (Center Left) recieves his award from Ewan French of Pearson Education Canada (Left), Bob McCartney of Sun Microsystems (Center Right), and Jim Gaskell, President of CUFA/BC (Right)

Friends and colleagues gathered at the Law Courts Restaurant on April 13, 2000 to celebrate the achievements of the 2000 Distinguished Academics Awards recipients Dr. Reginald (Reg) Mitchell (Academic of the Year) and Dr. Robert (Bob) Evans (Career Achievement Award).

“Professor Mitchell, as our Academic of the Year and Professor Evans, as our Career Achievement Award recipient, are excellent examples of how the community directly benefits from the academic work in our universities,” said Jim Gaskell, CUFA/BC President. “Professor Mitchell’s selfless contributions to science literacy, and Professor Evans’ crucial contributions to the health care debate demonstrate that B.C. universities are integral to the social, cultural and economic life of our province and country.”

Reg Mitchell, a chemist at the University of Victoria, is well known in academic circles for his work in aromatic molecules. He is better known to generations of Victoria school children, however, as Dr. Zonk, the green-haired mad scientist who uses “stinks and bangs” to introduce young people to the wonders of science. Professor Mitchell received the Academic of the Year Award for his on-going contributions to the community as Dr. Zonk and for sharing his academic expertise with the community through science awareness projects and as a media commentator explaining chemistry to the general public.

Reg Mitchell

Reg Mitchell as Dr. Zonk

Bob Evans, an economist at the University of British Columbia, received the Career Achievement Award for his lifelong contribution to the study of health care economics. Professor Evans is considered one of the founders of the field of health care economics and is the single most influential academic in Canadian health care policy. He has advised prime ministers, premiers and health ministers (both federal and provincial) on how and why the health care system works and what can be done to improve it. His international stature is attested to by his serving on panels reviewing the national health care systems in Sweden and Greece. Professor Evans has recently been working to shift public discussion away from a focus on health care towards a focus on health (of which health care is but one factor). He carries out this work through the Population Health Program of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research.
This is the sixth year the Confederation of University Faculty Associations of British Columbia (CUFA/BC) has given awards to recognize excellence in the contributions of academic work to the wider community. The Academic of the Year Award was established in 1995 as a means to highlight the accomplishments of the academic staff of B.C. public universities. In 1999, the Career Achievement Award was added and the awards became collectively known as the Distinguished Academics Awards. Dr. Mitchell and Dr. Evans each received a cheque for $2000 and a specially commissioned trophy.

2000 Distinguished Academics Awards Sponsored by

Sun Microsystems

Pearson Education Canada



University of Victoria