Past Winners 2014

From left to right: Dr. Matias Margulis, Dr. Ann Dale, and Dr. Michael Prince


Dr. Matias Margulis, an International Studies professor from the University of Northern British Columbia (UNBC), received the 2014 Early in Career Award Sponsored by Scotiabank. Dr. Margulis is being recognized for his outstanding work in engaging policy makers and the general public in vital discussions around global food security.

Dr. Michael Prince, a professor in the Faculty of Human and Social Development at the University of Victoria (UVic), received the 2014 Academic of the Year Award. Dr. Prince is being recognized for applying his considerable skills in public policy research and as a public intellectual to assist the Canadian disability community in advocating for its needs.

Dr. Ann Dale, a professor in the School of Environment and Sustainability at Royal Roads University (RRU), received the 2014 Paz Buttedahl Career Achievement Award. Dr. Dale is being recognized for her career-long commitment, as a civil servant and as an academic, to developing policies and tools to help build sustainable communities.

These awards are presented annually by the Confederation of University Faculty Associations of BC (CUFA BC) to recognize outstanding faculty members at BC’s public universities who use their research and scholarly work to benefit the general public.

Mark Forsythe, host of CBC Radio One’s BC Almanac, emceed the awards dinner on Wednesday, April 23th at the Law Courts Inn in Vancouver.

The CUFA BC Distinguished Academics Awards are in their twentieth year and receive generous support from Scotiabank, CBC Radio One, University of British Columbia, Simon Fraser University, the University of Victoria, the University of Northern British Columbia, and Royal Roads University.

CUFA BC represents 4,600 university professors, instructors, academic librarians and other academic staff at the province’s five doctoral universities – SFU (Burnaby, Vancouver and Surrey campuses), UBC (Vancouver and Kelowna campuses), UNBC (Prince George, Terrace, Fort St. John and Quesnel campuses), UVic and Royal Roads University.

2014 Distinguished Academics Awards Sponsored by







University of Victoria



Royal Roads University